Saturday, November 15, 2008
here's a brilliant idea
you'll thank me in a few years once this fad catches on.
Sunday, November 2, 2008
i need...
Tuesday, October 28, 2008
voting

running for state treasurer
michael marsh
constitution party
occupation: maintenance
occupational background: a variety of jobs
educational background: some college
prior governmental experience: none
honestly...is this some kind of joke by the constitution party? trying to pull a fast one on us regualr folk. also, could this candidate possibly have snapped a photo which makes us question his ability to govern any more than this photo? im almost embarrassed to live in this state. the other night merle and i were trying to fathom the group of drunken old men that were playing cards the night they decided that mike would be running for treasurer.
one guy you should check out is bob skipper, running for multnomah county sheriff. for starters: what a great sheriff name, "bob skipper" this guy was made to wear the badge. secondarily, i couldn't find his photo on the online guide, but if you've seen this picture, you're more than sold. he has the most legit sheriff stache you may have ever seen. i mean that thing is true mustache gold. clearly my vote goes to bob.
happy voting, go mccain.
Wednesday, October 15, 2008
pumpkins
its like pumpkins.
i've had much more time on my hands lately, and i have been processing a lot of things, so i may be writing on here a bit more as i am working through these ideas and self-discoveries. there is so much i feel like i could write about now, but most of it i should sit on for a bit longer before i go making an ass out of myself. writing things out often helps me process thoughts that are at a standstill in my mind. not only writing, but talking and just thinking do as well. some people say they are verbal processors, or mental processors. i think i'm just a slow processor. i'm so laid back sometimes that things which begin to get processed in my mind can often just be forgotten altogether either by my own neglection, or the fact that it doesn't really bother me all that much, so i don't remember it.
anyway, i've been exhorted much lately, and that has been nice amid the turmoil, sting, and confusion of life right now. thank you all for your love and encouragement in my life. until later. abide in Him.
Wednesday, October 8, 2008
you got a fast car
i don't usually drive too fast, you know, like unsafe fast, but sure, at times i let it get out of control. sometimes, i drive up to a stop light late at night, i stop, wait for a second, there are no cars coming in any direction, so i just drive through the red light. i know it's illegal, but it's completely safe. it just seems ridiculous to sit there, waiting for the stupid light to turn green for my proper turn to start driving, when there isn't any danger in me going right then.
in my 8 years of driving i've received some 6 or 7 tickets. most of them were legitimate, but a few not so much. i've also been in 3 collisions, twice i've rear-ended another car, and one time i tried to reverse out of my friends driveway and pull a 180 degree spin move as i came out onto the road. the 180 was more like a 90 and then another 90 in a perpendicular direction. it ended up with me and Tyler tank hatching it out of my poor overturned pick-up...that absolutely sucked ass. i still drove that pick-up for two years after that. i ended up duct-taping some racing numbers on that puppy, and she ran like a gem until the day i finally totaled it.
like i said though, these days i drive a way to much. i don't have a functioning cd player or fm radio in my car either, so for a long time i was listening to hours upon hours, week after week of talk radio. maybe a month ago i decided to turn it off and start driving in silence. so now i think a lot while i drive. i get all introspective and crap. the other day i had this thought about how driving relates to what i'm going through in life right now.
i pretty much always drive over the speed limit. we all do. most of the time it's just the standard 5-10 miles over, but every now and again i really push the boundaries. one time i got my nissan altima up to 127 mph. it was stupid, but i guess i was just curious how fast i could get going. the problem with always driving over the speed limit is that whenever a cop comes into view i get all paranoid and slow down for fear of getting a ticket, like somehow he managed to overlook how blazing fast i was just going. driving fast is hard on the car as well. on my last trip up from california Merle and i overheated the engine and blew the head gasket, and i still don't think this car is running normal again despite thousands of dollars worth of repairs. maybe i just need to slow down.
for years i've struggled with sexual sin. on some level, for nearly as long as i've been driving, i've allowed compromise in my sexual life. about a year ago i actually began doing something about it. i brought my secret life of sin out into the open with some people that i trust. through these relationships and through confession God has been faithful to give me a certain amount of victory. i sought grace, i sought forgiveness, i sought repentance, i sought healing.
there are costs to making bad choices when i drive. i've probably paid somewhere in $1500 range for all my traffic violations. my decisions to speed, or to not wear a safety belt, or to drive through a road construction detour all cost me in the pocket book. when i look at it from this end, of course i wish that i had just followed the rules and avoided the fines, but that's easy to say from this side.
i wish i could put a price tag on the losses i've incurred through my decisions to live a sexually sinful lifestyle. but these losses go far beyond money. i've lost time, i've lost vision, i've lost true passions, i've lost relationships.
of course there are costs to driving in a completely legal manner as well. proper vehicle maintenance and insurance for example. in fact the amount of money i've put into these two things far outweigh the amount of fines i've paid for my negligent driving. at first i thought this ironic, but as i realized that driving is a privilege, i understood that these financial 'losses' are actually a part of the responsibility that comes with that privilege.
the costs of me living a sexual pure lifestyle are sometimes overwhelming to me, but they are my responsibility. i take heart at the words of Christ in the sermon on the mount, if your right eye causes you to sin, gouge it out and throw it away. it is better for you to lose one part of you body than for your whole body to be thrown into hell. there is no cost great enough to forsake righteousness. my pastor always says that giving your life to the Lord doesn't cost you anything, but it costs you everything. the forgiveness is completely paid for by God's gracious shedding of His own Son's blood, but in return for that grace we have to bring everything before Him and submit it all to His will. His will is many things, but above all, it is righteousness. i don't write these words without hesitation nor without self-conviction. these words are being birthed in me and in my life right now. the costs of righteousness is high, it's everything. it costs me time, it costs me self-pride, it costs me money, but it gains me a blessed hope.
sometimes i just wish i could sell my car and get a nice bike, or a pack horse, or a sherpa, or something like that to get me around. but of course that's not a realistic hope. the reality is that i'll continue pumping money into the transportation beast via insurance, gas, and the never ending maintenance bills. i also wish there was an easier way out of the toil i'm walking through, that i could just decide that i don't want to have a sexual nature, and i could go through life without ever having those thoughts, or desires, or struggles. yet again, i realize the vain hope which lies there. so i continue to fight this fight. i know i will overcome. i'm hopeful of how it might look on the other side, and i'm ready to pay any costs it takes to get there.
Thursday, August 28, 2008
and just shy of two months
i have spent my summer working for portland parks and rec. they own these portable rock climbing walls which me and my buddy griffin (aka griffindor, the g-man, griffinator) would tow to a park or community center and set up for kids to climb on. it was a great job, but i am definitely ready to move on to the next step. i spent much of the summer talking with the community center which the rock walls operated out of about working in the fall. earlier in the summer they asked if i would be one of the after school program instructors. so a few weeks ago, as the rock wall gig was closing down that option was spoken about and solidified. then just yesterday i ended up getting offered a job at a gresham middle schools as an english language learner (ell) educational assistant. it is a great job, and i am actually going to attempt to work both at the middle school and the community center. what im saying is that i have been blessed with two great jobs in which i can explore and gain experience in the educational field.
God has blessed me with some awesome people as my family and friends. my girlfriend alyssa is amazing. she's incredibly wise, full of grace, funny (really funny), sincere, and absolutely beautiful(ow-OOW!). then there's someone like merle, continually helping me understand new aspects of the creator i never would discover on my own, or justin, full of zeal and passion to touch the Father's heart. i am blessed. this summer my father went to zambia for a month. he kept a blog and it is chalked full of truth and wisdom on many matters of life which he wrote about while exploring and discovering a new culture. i often found myself in tears reading his words half way across the globe. if you get a chance, you should check it out. http://www.danonamission.wordpress.com/ also you can find merle's blog here http://www.pmerles.blogspot.com/ (he totally ripped my layout off, but i forgive him.)
this seems like a lot for now, i didn't really get to the more recent thoughts part, but hopefully i will get to it soon. i bid you well.
Thursday, June 5, 2008
entirely unmotivated
Wednesday, May 21, 2008
Saturday, May 17, 2008
twinkle
last night i walked for the multnomah graduation. i actually finished last summer, and then officially graduated in december, but i wanted to walk in the ceremony with all of those i started my educational pursuits with and so many people i love dearly.
what now??? damned fine question! im glad you asked...that's a lie, don't ask me that.
im pretty sure that i want to be a teacher. i know it's broad. what subject? what age? where at? luckily a few of those questions were conveniently answered in a mad libs given to me by alyssa for some graduation ceremony entertainment. apparently i will be a science teacher in des moines ten years from now. i know i know, it's borderline absurd (much like some other things found within the mad libs, like the supposedly performed activities i did while at multnomah: sleeping on the couch in the library and sniffing [HA!]). but seriously im trying to figure this whole thing out, and i know i will before long.
okay, let's wrap this puppy up. i need a job! i have an official lady friend (for those who are just dying to know aka rachell), yes i called her my lady friend (girlfriend is way overused and hardly carries significance anymore). ethel, thanks for your comment and encouragement, and both my sister and i are now wondering how to connect with you (she got a message a while back , but didn't have a number to call back on), and to end, why not another funny quote from earlier today. either my dad or darla said something about a relationship needing the couple to make one another "twinkle." justin (jp that is) in pure cynical fashion, then produced a brilliantly hilarious scenario about him finding a girl that will make him "twinkle."
-justin to a girl upon his first "twinkle" experience: "you make me twinkle"
-the girl's likely response: "okay...you go clean yourself up, and im gonna leave"
-me: "HAHAHAHAHA!"
Monday, May 12, 2008
i just managed
"it's better with luigi because it matches his hat."
-lefty in reference to using the goomba boot (it's green)
"you have a sweatiness problem in general."
-lefty in response to me complaining about having a sweaty hands problem
that's all really, i think maybe i should just start emailing rachel these blogs, because i'm pretty sure she is the only person that is reading this still :)
Monday, May 5, 2008
i suck...
last week i pretty much settled back in to portland. i got to see a number of people i love dearly: justin, cara, sahara, little eduardo, joey, erika, chloe, eli, gwynie (she cried the instant i said hi to her), merlin, st. petersburg (i love this man), clouser, lyss, ted, lefty, blake, scoobs, well you get the point. i went to last thursday a few weeks ago, and first thursday last week, and saturday i went to a cinco de mayo party and pretty much had the homemade salsa title stolen from my grasp. the greatest thing about the cinco de mayo party was...that i went with alyssa, but the second most amazing thing was this guy reid elliott harrison. he was an instant riot. quote of the night, "those clever mexicans." i think i'll leave it at that. i also went rock climbing with lefty and merle for the first time in ages, good times. by the way, when i say lefty, it means caleb hargrove (some of you may not know that his real name is lefty) and when i say merle, it means "merle."
sunday i came to redmond, where i currently am typing from. i'm not entirely excited to be here (don't ask why, i'm just not), but it is really great to see more family and some of the old crew. hopefully i will have enough time to make the necessary rounds.
i'm going to stop wasting your time and mine. the end.
Monday, April 21, 2008
staying connected
ihop has been refreshing. i have missed so much the communion of saints and the musical worship of our Lord. christians are made for community, the whole beginnings of the church was that very thing, a community of people who confessed Jesus Christ as Lord, who regularly met to commit their time to prayer, fellowship, teaching and learning, and of course eating (the Lord's supper or communion). needless to say this week is changing my heart, giving me hope, giving me reason and encouragement. God is faithful.
i litrally just red this quote a few minutes ago, but i love it already. it is from phantastes by george macdonald. he is the literary father and inspiration to fantasy authors like cs lewis and tolkien.
"shadow of me!" i said, "which art not me, but which representest thyself to me as me; here i may find a shadow of light which will devour thee, the shadow of darkness! here i may find a blessing which will fall on thee as a curse, and damn thee to the blackness from whence thou hast emerged unbidden."
im still learning. who isn't? but i believe in my God, and i know He is faithful.
He who calls you is faithful, He will surely do it. I Thessalonians
Sunday, April 13, 2008
vuelvo ahora
actually i will be finishing packing my bags, hopefully getting a little sleep, and then i will be coming. i leave in about 12 hours, whoa! too soon. tonight i got to go to the church out in torrejon tonight to say good bye to my friends out there. i really love those guys, and i wish that i had spent more time with them while i was in madrid. the guy that spoke tonight is just an awesome man, and though i didn´t catch everything, i understood enough. he was speaking on abraham and when he was told to sacrifice isaac. the bit of gold i grabbed from the message was that the cost of following God is everything. it´s everything. abraham was told to take his son, his ONLY son, and sacrifice him. the speaker went on to say that when you understand the ways of God, the cost of everything, is nothing. with God to lose, is to gain. to give, is to receive. to serve, is to be served. profound, yet simple.
afterward i met with david and some friends to say goodbye. im not incredibly good at good byes, and my lack of ability to speak spanish very clearly doesn´t help; nonetheless, i have met some really incredible people here, and i am going to miss them all.
i really cant ask enough for your prayers. i am still learning, still hurting, still stumbling along, still searching. in just one moment i have realize how far i have yet to go. i am looking foward to this coming week at ihop. it´s exactly what i want to do right now. please pray for me! i am weak, poor, and lost.
when i get in tomorrow night i will have cell phone service, so feel free to call if you want. and please dont be offended if i dont answer or return you calls for a day or two as i recover from the jet lag.
...to hurt, is to heal. to be last, is to be first. to die, is to live...
Thursday, April 10, 2008
a picture or two
la alhambra at sunset with the sierra nevada mountains in the background, granada:
plaza españa, sevilla. possibly the most wonderful singular site i´ve ever been:
this is the toreo, manzanares (the one in blue) taking a victory lap after cutting two ears in the rain, sevilla. a corrida to remember:
Tuesday, April 8, 2008
rain rain go away!
last night i went to a bullfight. it was such an obscure corrida. i think ernest hemingway wrote that without the sun, there is no bullfight. not that it is cancelled, but that the sun is such a key ingredient to a succesful bullfight. for me it wasn´t too bad. the tickets prices aren´t based soley upon their proximity to the ring, but depending on whether your seat is sombra (shade), sol (sun), or sol y sombra (sun and shade). a ticket in the exact same level in the sombra is two or three times as expensive as the seat in the sol. this season these two weeks in sevilla is probably the second most important season every year for bullfighting. so all the best fighters are there, and the bulls are suppose to be the most brave anf fit bulls they can find. but as i was saying, it was a pretty weird corrida. there was a horse that got toppled by a bull (the horse wasn´t hurt), there were two rainstorms that came through, one of the bulls got boo´d out of the ring because the people thought it was a coward and too weak, and the very last bull the toreo, amidst the second and much wetter rain storm took two ears (which is almost as good as you can do in sevilla). it was one for the books. by the end i was entirely soaked...entirely, but i wouldn´t have had it any other way.
later i went with this german lady, nina, from the hostal and two of her friends who were also staying in sevilla to the the place where the feria is. there were acres and acres of tents set up for different companies, familys, and clubs. some of the tents are public tents. so we went in to the psoe tent (psoe is the main right wing political party of spain). in the tent we found a huge crowd of people all dancing and clapping and singing along to the sevillana music. it was unlike anything you could imagine, or i could properly write about.
today the rain is at it´s worst. i went to the cathedral, bought an umbrella, and later i am going to meet with christopher and sarah (the germans i met in granada) to maybe go get some tapas and hopefully watch liverpool stick it to arsenal for the champions league match. that´s all for now. i dont know if i will get a chance to write much before i fly home, i think the next few days in madrid will be pretty busy, but we´ll see.
okay, people are waiting to use the computer. i should go. much love!
Sunday, April 6, 2008
freshy
okay.
i was really fourtunate to meet a few nice germans while i was there, christopher and sarah. last night we went out to eat some tapas and then played some cards in the hostal. they are coming to sevilla tomorrow, and i think we are going to try to meet up.
later that night i watched the last bit of the film apocalypto with this scottish bloke. that movie is intense, at least the part i saw was. at the end these three english girls came back from being out and we were all talking and the topic moved onto the subject of religion. i began writing some reflections today in my journal of that conversation, but something that gary (the scotsman) said had me thinking quite a lot last night while laying in bed. in reference to the world´s origins: "if a friend showed you a beautiful house up on a hill and you prosed, who built that there house? and your friend replied, oh that house has just always been there, you would think he was absolutely crazy. i laid in bed for a good hour thinking about this. i´ve heard the same argument in different words, but the way with the house i really like. hopefully i can write something deeper on this. this guy gary had a crazy life. he´s 46 years old, and has been involved with music all his life. he´s met any number of world renowned musicians but is totally relaxed and chill about life and what he does. nice guy that gary.
okay that´s all for now. just one more week and i´ll be back in the states!
Monday, March 31, 2008
los vascos
a funky statue thing by the sea in san sebastian:
this building is some sort of theatre for film festivals and the like, san sebastian:
correction
also, rik, i didn´t publically make fun of you, i said the person was to remain anonymous. and still, there is no possible way for spain and portland to be a couple days apart. they are 9 hours apart, which at the very most, can be one day. when it is morning here, it is the night before there. im closing the book on this subject, i´ve said my peace and counted to three.
maybe more on the basque country later today or tonight. xo.
Tuesday, March 25, 2008
a few random things
seconds: i have received a few messages talking about the time change. for example, someone to remain anonymous wrote speaking of my birthday, "i think you celebrate tomorrow, but we dont celebrate it here for a couple of days." so, in light of this confusion i will try to give a few clarifying words. it takes the earth 24 hours to make one revolution. the earth is divided into 24 "time zones" which are correlated to the coordinated universal time (or UTC -or- more commonly referred to as greenwhich mean time, GMT) gmt is the time that it is in london, england. each timezone then is described as gmt +/- #. for example, the time in spain is gmt+1, so when it is 10:00 gmt time (in london) it is 11:00 in spain (+1 hour). make sense? for the pacific time zone (where most of you live...please tell me you know what the pacific time zone is...) the time is gmt-8, so when it is 10:00 gmt, it is 2:00 in portland, or (minus 8 hours). to calculate the the difference in time between two places you need to simply compare the time zones as they relate to the gmt and do some simple math. spain_gmt+1 portland_gmt-8...oh to hell with it, it´s nine hours earlier in portland than in spain! well normally it is, except for the last two weeks, since they have an earlier daylight savings date in the states than in spain, it is currently only 8 hours difference, until this weekend, then back to the normal 9. that was ridiculous, moving on.
third: not actually, try reading the last paragraph in one breath! i´ll give a euro to anyone that can do it.
fourthen: i´m leaving tomorrow to go to bilbao and san sebastian. they are in the north of spain in the basque country. the basque country is famous for rain, the best tapas in spain, having a completely unique language unlike any other in spain, the eta, the town of guernica (wiki it if you dont know)...(by "wiki it" i mean you should look it up on wikipedia.org ...if you didn´t know), and surfing. it is a region that spands from northcentral spain into southwest france. to say the least, i´m a little bit excited. except for the the potential car bomb, that would put a hamper on the trip.
fiff: i have some plane tickets for when i get back to the states. before, i only had a ticket from madrid back to philadelphia. now, i have a ticket on the 14th of april from philly to kansas city. i´ve been wanting to spend some time at ihop (not the pancakke house, the prayer house) and what better time than when i have no job, no money, and have been outside of my comfort zone for 3 months. afterwards, i have a ticket from kc to portland on the 23 of april. i hope that appeases some of y´all´s quandry into my post spain plans.
six: it´s not my birthday anymore, buenas noches from spain, buenas tardes to you (eight, but normally nine hours, back)
Sunday, March 23, 2008
furthermore
Lord, i cant pretend to understand Your sacrifice. i cant pretend to understand Your pain. i know i am far from You, but i want to be close--I want to be intimate--i certainly cant understand Your tolerance of my rebelion, Your gentle care for this rogue child.
i´ve searched for answers but am left wanting. wanting desire. wanting fulfillment. wanting Love. it´s there, but i cant fully take hold of it. i see it, but like a painting. i hear it, but like a poem. i feel it, but like a man. take me up. no, first destroy this earthly dwelling, that i can truly taste the heavenly, the real.
is this a service of my mouth or do i truly wish this? how can i justify my constant turning on You? how can You be set toward me, for me? can i yet rise? am i justified in Youe eyes? am i pleasant in Your gaze? You say i´ve ravaged Your heart with a glance from my eyes, but how can that be when through these eyes You see my inmost? Yet a slant of the eyes from You destroys me. it sets me shaking, shaking and weeping. its too real, too far above.
shaking and weeping. its not much, but maybe these tears can speak better than words. at least grant me this honor: to wipe the dust of Your feet with the water of my eyes. i wont rise past Your knees, i wont grab Your hands, i dare not look to Your face.
later, once this life has been poured out, maybe i will know Your sacrifice, Your pain. if this body can yet be broken, and this blood yet be shed, so be it. then i may know the grave, know the sorrows.
i´ll try to fix my eyes on You, the finish, the glory, the beginning. i´ll try to understand this death, to know this life.
Saturday, March 22, 2008
losing
i want to learn what that means more practically. i do desire paradise. everyone desires it in one way or another. to some paradise is a mansion with a three car garage; to others it is having a clean earth where no animals are ever harmed and we only eat raw vegetables. i think the longing beneath most of our ideals of paradise is peace. when i was talking with mona and navid (the baha´i followers i met in lisbon) they said that every religion strives to bring peace between the spirits of humankind and our maker. i agreed, to an extent. the difference i have to make is that i know that i can´t do anything at all to make steps toward that peace. i recognize the barrier that is between me and my maker, and i know that my efforts to overcome it are entirely fruitless. so i´m left to ponder. what can i do?
i have thought a lot since studying at multnomah about whether man is intrinsically good or bad. of course i want to believe that man is good, at his core. but my experience, and my theology have come to know quite firmly that it is the converse. i need not travel outside my own skin to realize the horror of the mind and actions of man. furthermore, to say man is good, makes it possible for him to take steps toward that paradise, towards life. but the Flesh Himself said that he who tries to gain his life will lose it.
but he who loses his life for me...
i dont know how it is done exactly, but i want the life the He promises me.
that´s my paradise.
Thursday, March 20, 2008
mouth of the inferno!!!!!!
short and sweet. happy holy thursday.
Monday, March 17, 2008
yeh.
so to set this story david and i are in prague. we´re both pretty exhausted from traveling one place to the next, and the spaniard has started becoming a little testy. we were walking down the river, and what lay before our eyes but a lovely island. there was a bridge that crossed over at that point, so i coerce my traveling companion to go out to the island. upon setting foot to the island we quickly spied out a nice little park bench to sit and take in the view from. and in true-blue spanish fashion, david realized the opportunity for a quick siesta was knocking at his door...he answered the call, and easily managed to fall asleep as seen here:
(maybe one of the greatest benefit of being spanish is a keen ability to take a nap, anywhere, any time. what i would give to master this ability)
i, then took the first chance in about a week to have some time alone. whoa was it neccesary. i just meandered around the island park and enjoyed the life, the smell, the sun, the beauty. it was so refreshing. it was a beautiful day, and i really couldn´t have asked for anything more. i walked about the island for half an hour or so and went back to david at his bench. from there we carried on. i took this picture from one end of the island. it is of the old town at charles bridge. what a nice day!
tomorrow, david, lidia and i are going to go to salamanca for a day. it is supposed to have some famous semana santa celebrations. by-the-way, in spain, semana santa is kinda a big deal. the week between palm sunday and resurrection sunday everyone has the week off from school, and most jobs. most people do some traveling with their family or friends. in the cities, there are these things called processions. a number of people from the church are dressed in robes, and they carry these massive parade like floats through the cities. i will write more about it later, when i actually know more... hehe.
today is elijah´s birthday :( i really wish i could be there :( :( :( i may try to all anyway, but when i called justin for his birthday, the telephone company rolled me. holy man! i just called the number that was posted on all of the telephones in venice, and i knew that it wasn´t going to be cheap, but i seriously was charged more than $5 per minute. making my 10-15 minute call come to a total of $68. when i saw that on my bank account i culd hardly believe it. today i will look for an international calling card. so i dont get robbed again.
yesterday we went to palm sunday mass. there were some gypsies in the front selling little bundles of olive branches. i know it sounds harsh when i just say some gypsies, but seriously, they were gypsies, for real. well david and i were waiting for lidia to get there, and two young girls came up to us and started trying to sell us the branches. both of us politely said no thank you. but they would not stop. they kept at us, and were relentless, "oh come on, it´s palm sunday...we´ve been here for hours...you have to buy one." as though it isn´t annoying enough to be hasseled by a sales person, the fact that we were literally two steps outside the door of the church made me so frustrated. i don´t contest too much here in spain, because i really can´t express myself very well in spanish, and if i just start talking in english then i´ve accomplished nothing. but i really couldn´t take it anymore so i said to one of them, "este no es un mercado, es una iglesia!" meaning: this is not a market, this is a church!
i dont care that they are selling olive branches that they probably took from a local park. i don´t care that much that they are probably living here in spain illegally. i don´t care that much that they are persistent in making a sell, and don´t take no for an answer. but i do care, with an incredible amount of respect, that they are using the church soley for a means of their own gain. that they are preying upon religion and religious tradition to make money. palm sunday marks the triumphal entry of Jesus into jerusalem, and upon entering the city, the first thing he did was drive out the merchants using the temple for their gain. My house will be a house of prayer; but you have turned it into a den of robbers. oh God wash our hands and keep us from greed. let us not use You for our gain. purify Your church, and drive out those who abuse her for money.
i think i am done, time for comida. much love!
Tuesday, March 11, 2008
this one´s for ricky
three days in a row!!! woohoo! that´s all.
well not really, maybe some of those siblings of mine, whom have children (i think you know who you are, i dont want to have to name names) should eamil a picture of two of mis sobrinos. i would like that very much. :)
Monday, March 10, 2008
santiago
at this point i got off the bus, went to the nearby park, with a killer lion-topped monument, and ate a bocadillo (sandwich). then i made my way to the bus station, and waited to take the ridiculously long bus to get here, in santiago.
i really like this city. it is raining today, and i really need to do my laundry, so it almost feels like portland, almost like home. however...i am alone, and my family and friends aren´t here, so not too much like home actually.
much love to everyone.
ps. can someone give me grandma lola´s address, i think she would really appreciate a card or something. and if anyone else really wants a card, you should just tell me, i will send one.
Saturday, March 8, 2008
mmmkay
today i have been especially uninspired. i fell asleep, still fully clothed, at about 9 last night, and this morning, after breakfast and showering and all, i laid back down and fell asleep for another hour. i dont know what´s going on, but i feel spent. so i walked into town, and i was sitting on a park bench on the main strip, trying to motivate myself to go somewhere. i decided to stop into a little cafe and grab a coffee, and then i thought i better try and reserve a hostal in santiago, because i didn´t have one for porto and i ended up having to stay in a place way outside the center. so here i am, paying to use the internet in this cafe, and then this guy comes in and starts using the computer next to me. and he is asking me something, and so i say, "no, no faro portuguese." and he replies, "do you speak english?" so then we talk for a second, and come to find out he lives in northwestern spain, and he is driving home tomorrow. he offered me a ride, i dont know if i will take it or not, but i can meet him here at the coffee shop at 12:30 tomorrow if i want to.
anyway, that´s kinda what is going on presently. i feel quite exhuasted, and im not really sure why exactly. the other night in lisbon i wrote something in my journal that i would like to share:
...as i watch the beauty of Your creation tonight, the glory of light and seascapes, i cannot help but desire You, maker of all things great and small, more. the west is exploding in rays of pink and yellow over the masses of ships resting in the harbor. but my eyes have turned to the east, where the deeply red painted horizon is covering the houses as their lights begin to dot the shoreline.
my hands--cold, my feet--hurting and filthy, and the nearby construction site--clanging with drilling and machinery are all begging for my attention. but to see the scarlet of the sky wonderfully reflected off the water of the bay steals it back. You are jealous of my love, my eyes, my heart, and you have them oh Lord.
it takes waters so fresh, and waters so still to cast such a captivating reflection. so i petition that You would purify my heart and calm my mind that i may too echo such beauty...breath...
create in me a clean heart oh God, and renew a steadfast spirit in me. oh how i desire to reflect the crimson heavens like the tranquil sea below...
the sun has set, night has come, i must move on
later that night i met these two people in the hostel that were baha´i. it is a middle eastern based religion that pretty much attempts to merge all religions and beliefs into one. the 411 is that the source of all religions is God, and all the prophets were speaking the truth of God, within their own time. we talked quite a bit, their names were mona and navid. a lot of what they said was actually right on, but a lie that is close to the truth, is stil a lie, and often even more deceiving. i asked mona how Jesus can be right in proclaiming that He is the very Son of God, the Way, the Truth, the Light--yet at the same time any other prophet or teaching that doesn´t affirm those things be truth. both of them said that they believed all of what Christ speaks about Himself, that they believed He came as the Son of God and gave His life for sinners. i dont understand why there is any need for anything beyond that. i asked if the founder of baha´i, bahá'u'lláh, claimed to be God. and they said no. they said that all of the prophets: abraham, moses, buddha, Jesus, muhammad, and bahá'u'lláh all came to reflect, like a mirror, the true intentions of God to mankind. then i asked if you affirm that Jesus is God, then why would you want a reflection. It´s like settling for for a audio track through a set of headphones when the live band is playing the music right outside your door (i didn´t say that, i´m not that quick on the draw). anyway, it wasn´t really going anywhere, there was hardly a disagreement because everything i believe they said they believe (more or less). they said there is a vibrant baha´i community in portland, so for those of you in portland don´t be alarmed if you begin to hear more and more from them. i have many more thoughts on the discussion, but i think i have written long enough. thanks for stopping by.
Monday, March 3, 2008
no more pictures
for this trip i really dont have any plan. i dont even have a hostal reservation in lisbon yet. most likely i will head north from lisbon to porto, then on up to northern spain. there are a few cities that i would really like to see, so i will just go with the flow and do what i can--while i can.
buenas noches,
antonio
Sunday, March 2, 2008
mustachio bashio
when i started i had this kind of fidel castro, reckless communist look going on. the first stop on the facial hair design train is a mixture of a look i have sported before and a new element. i like to call it the "soul king" it is a blend of a standard imperial stache with the added soul patch. this style is popular among members of hell´s angels and anyone who wants to spend their days getting odd stares and having children rushed away from them by their mothers to the other side of the street.

this style i like to call the "cage fighter" (notice the fist pump). it is a close variation of the soul king, but with a cleaner look on the jaw. this helps slip some of the quick jabs and round-house kicks to the face when in the ring. obvioulsy by its name you can deduce that it is a popluar style amongst cage fighters, but it also a common fashion to those deemed as rednecks.

a standard "musketeer." the musketeer is recognizable by an upturned mustache accompanied with a soul patch. this is a classic stache style that has origens from the early middle ages. there´s not much to be said about this look, but if you see a really good one someday out there on the streets or in a magazine, it will probably shortly take your breath away.

"70´s" what else do you need to know. the 70´s ushered in a period of mustache tolerance that probably won´t ever be reached in my lifetime. it was the deal to have an upper lip warmer in that decade, it´s just what you did. this style is often accomanied by bountiful sideburns, know as chops, which really only add to the disco flavor. staying alive! (the 70´s stache is essentialy the same style as your average mexi-stache, unfortuanately, i lack the melatonin and origen to call mine a mexi stache)

this is a "styled stache." pretty much what you do is take a standard 70´s mustache and clean it up. you should frame the upper lip with the bottom of the stache, and pull down the top of the stache form a slim lip belt. this style is seen less frequently probably because of the constant upkeep, but when done well, it is a lovely site. it is a common style with circus ringleaders (if they dont go with the conventional handlebar mustache) and hosts in really fancy restaurants.

i really dont think i need to name this stache. we all know who wore this style and made it neigh impossible for your avrage joe to wear it in this day of political correctness. the point of this stache is merely to show that you have the ability to grow a stache. it serves no real function beyond that, and it only proves as a hinderance in nasal hygiene. this style is popular amongst power hungry dictators who don´t have the balls to face their just recompense, and amongst silent movie stars (i know, it is almost humorously ironic how different those two are)


thanks fo playing.
Friday, February 29, 2008
catching up a bit
construction netting in the backgound. also, you should take note that there is no monument, famous building, or piece of art that would normally encite such a need for a photo. but what really sets off the photo is the change sign framing david´s head. breathtaking, simply breathtaking.Sunday, February 24, 2008
in prague
cheers
Saturday, February 16, 2008
venice
venice...best know for: lovers, venetian art, san marcos cathedral, the grande canal, carnival masks, the bridge of sighs, crystal, pidgeons, pizza, gelato, gondolas...yeah you get it. here are my favorite things about venice: no cars, the reflections off the water, the lady at the journal store, the jewish ghetto and museum, and piazza san marcos...it really is breathtaking (especially looking down the front of it, past palazzo ducale, across san marco canal, toward the cathderal of san siorgio maggiore)
the hostel i stayed in was completely empty, seriously, empty...but it was nice to have a quiet room and a clean bathroom to use. i was lucky enough to meet two sisters from canada who have been studying in tel aviv, israel. i met them at the jewish ghetto museum. they are jewish, and i think, that they thought, i was jewish (probably because of the glorious kosher beard i've got going on right now). anyway, we tooled around the museum making small talk about studies and what not, then i bid them farewell and set out to see a little bit more of the city.
that night, at about sunset i went out to the docks on the south side of the island and saw what apeared to be the makings of a glorious sunset, so i turned to make my way down the island to get a better view away from the crowds of piazza san marcos. and as i started up the first bridge i almost ran into the sisters from the museum, leah and esther. they didn't have any particular plans, nor did i, so we walked along for a while and had a good conversation about christianity and judaism. they said it was like a lesson, they had a lot of questions about catholics, christians, protestants, and how it all came about. and i got to ask them about a few questions i had. they practice orthodox judaism. it was very informative, and the biggest thing i learned was that the typical evangelical understanding (mine included) of modern day judaism is awefully inadequate. i told them that the church i attend in portland makes an effort to pray for israel and its people. they said that it was really refreshing to hear that, so i encourage any of you who read this to pray for israel, and if you don't know what to pray for, then just pray that (at least it's honest) and ask that God would work in that nation and that people.
that is all for now, i will write about ljubljana later, and about rok volk, the king of all things saxophone.
ps. i also got to talk to jj and cara (cara just a little bit) on justin's birthday, and it was really great, but i miss them, and i could hear sahara in the background...oh i miss them.
Friday, February 15, 2008
i just saw...
xo from slovenia
Tuesday, February 12, 2008
leaving madrid
i have been spending way too much time trying to get this trip organized. david finishes his exams this week, so this weekend he and two of his closest friends are going to meet me in budapest, hungary. it has been such a pain in the ass to try and plan this because pedro and alberto (david´s friends) didn´t even buy plane tickets until about five days ago. so we weren´t really sure if they were going to come at all, making it neigh impossible to line up hostel reservations, or any kind of plan as far as traveling goes. i really would rather go alone, or just with david, because with four people on three different schedules meant we had to have a pretty good idea of the how the whole trip was going to look before we left, well actually before i left....in about an hour from now. if i was alone, it would have been really easy to just go with the flow, and change plans if i wanted, but trying to reserve a hostel for four guys in the same room is much more difficult than for one dude rockin´it solo. also, i would rather spend more time in the cities than just a few days, but since david and his compadres cant really miss more than a week of school, and they wanted to hit the different cities, im kinda stuck. none-the-less in about five hours i should be arriving in venice, italy...the city of love...alone
travel itinerary (just so you know where to start looking if i disappear):
-12-14 venice, italy
-14-16 ljubljana, slovenia
-16-19 budapest, hungary (i will meet david on the 16th here, and pedro and alberto the 17th)
-19-23 vienna, austria (pedro and alberto will return to spain from vienna; david and i will go on to prague)
-23-26 prague, czech republic
on another note, today is my brother justin´s birthday (and abraham lincoln´s too) so i would like to wish a happy birthday to him, and maybe i can try to call him sometime later today, maybe. in writing this i feel like a moron because last week was my other brother justin´s birthday (that´s right there´s two of them), so if you happen to read this jp, happy late birthday, if you accept those... if not, then happy early birthday for next year. yesterday was david´s birthday, it was the third birthday of family members, or family-like members, since i´ve been here. and it was the first that actually seemed like it was celebrated to some extent. spain is different (said with a slight shake of the head...go on, try it).
i miss my family so much. i really miss my nieces and nephew and little bro, they are such a joy to me...i miss them...a lot :( much love to you all.
okay, i don´t know for sure if i will get to write while i am gone for the next few weeks, but if i don´t respond to you emails for a few days don´t panic, just stop, relax, breathe easy, and wait a a couple more days. most of the hostels we are staying at have free internet, so it really shouldn´t be an issue.
that is all, thank you.
Wednesday, February 6, 2008
a quicky...or quickie...
this really has nothing to do with any of my own creative genious, or ability to write, or lack there of. but i have listened to this song by the band anathallo any number of times, it´s beautiful...musically. but the other day i looked up the translation to the words (it´s sung in japanese) AND--- wow! really beautiful plus--PLUS. it´s beautiful and stirring. almost davidic-psalmish-like in nature.
here are the lyrics:
kasa no hone
karakasa no hone wa
bara bara
kamya yaburete mo
take ni sotaru
en ja mo
mis're nasaru na
nambo watashi ga
yaburete mo
us'te shon shon
translation of japanese:
the umbrella´s bones
the ribs of the umbrella
have fallen apart;
the paper is also torn,
but with bamboo
tied together.
do not throw it away.
though i also am torn,
don't desert me.
you can listen to the song on anathallo´s myspace page. www.myspace.com/anathallo
enjoy.
Saturday, February 2, 2008
i got good news...
which would you like first, huh? it´s a tough call because you can take the bad news first, and then end on a good note. or you could take the good news first, and hope that the excitement and joy that comes by hearing the good news is enough to not worry about the repercussions of the bad.
since i actually didn´t really have any good news, im just going to tell you what happened.
today...
at approxiamately 12:00 pm (spain time)...
my computer...
CRASHED...
DIED...
WILL NOT RESPOND IN ANY WAY, SHAPE, OR FORM...
...bummer...
but here are some good things about life to help cheer things up:
-david has a computer here in the house that i can use
-i am leaving february 12 to do some traveling
-i got to play some footy today with a team of david´s friends, we got crushed, but it was fun
-i scored a goal (it was an own goal)
-my beard is getting thick
-i have found a really good friend or two here in madrid (argentinians are awesome)
-i bought a jacket yesterday to replace the one i left on the plane, so now i dont have to freeze all the time
-i have food and shelter and clothes and shoes
-i have my guitar :) and i have books :) :)
-i don´t feel so lost in madrid anymore
-Jesus loves me
-im learning...
Thursday, January 31, 2008
some spare time
this weekend i went to the real madrid game, and whoa! it was an incredible game. real madrid are to european soccer like the yankees are to american baseball. except, that the former encompases 20+ c
monday i pretty much walked the entire day, all the way across town. i really enjoyed the walk and it gives a good perspective for the city. my intention was to walk to the prado (one of the most famous art collections in the world) but when i got there i found out that it isn't open on mondays; on the bright side, i also found out that you can go for free any other night from 6-8.
tuesday was the best day i've had since being here. david's mom, rema, invited me over for comida. in spain the main meal of the day is at 2 or 3pm... there isn't a name for it except comida (spanish for "food"). if someone asks you: quieres comer (literally translated: "do you want to eat") they are actually asking you if you want to have lunch together and spend an hour or more eating, chatting, drinking wine, and so on. beings that i really don't have anything better to do during the day i obliged. there are some girls about my age from argentina that have been staying at rema's house. they have been living here since late december, working in madrid, and they have some plans to travel next month around europe. anyway after comida one of the girls, jasmin, had to go to work, but the other, flor (pronounced: floor) said she had the day off, so she was going to meet a friend down town and asked if i wanted to go. flor was incredibly interested that i studied the Bible and theology in college. she had never heard of such a thing except for someone who wants to become a priest or something. for some reason i felt really comfortable around her. you know how when you first meet someone there is always that period of testing the waters. you think of the polite things to say, and make an effort not to offend them by what you believe. you ask all the right questions about where they are from, and what they do for a job, and blah, and blah, and... so it was as though we just skipped over all of that; like we had been friends for a while, but we had never talked about deep issues, so today those issues came up, they came up over and over. i know this kind of thing has happened to me before with a few people, but it always such a pleasant surprise each time it does.
i couldn't possibly recall all of our conversations, but the gist of the conversations was her trying understand what i believe. one of the first things we talked about was how i can truly feel the love of God. she said she had never felt that before, that she was a christian, and she says the catholic prayers, but she had never really, truly, tangibly felt that love. i said that if i had never felt that love, i probably wouldn't believe in Jesus at all. we talked about catholics and protestants, about the Bible, about God, Jesus, love, dreams, philosophy, humility. i told her how i am entirely reliant upon Jesus, she didn't like that idea. she preferred to think that we need to do good things to attain to heaven (pretty catholic), that God is love, and by doing good things, acts of love, we can get peace, and be at one with our spirits and with God. i just told her that i know for certain that i can do no good thing without Him... i'm dependent, im humbled before Him.
we met her friend and walked down the road a bit to a place to have some coffee and donuts while we talked. afterward we headed to the prado (that is the art museum i mentioned earlier). we wandered around the massive museum for a while and ended up in a hallway with paintings of biblical scenes. we took a seat in front of a painting by jose de ribera of isaac blessing jacob. the girls aske
later, after going back to rema's house, flor said she had never known anyone her age with such strong beliefs. i said there weren't many things that i believed really strongly in. so she rephrased it to say she hadn't known someone who religion was so important, and i told her that religion wasn't important to me at all... that Jesus was important to me, above all things...most important. she thinks Jesus founded the religion, i said man founded it in order to try and understand Jesus, in order to try and capture Jesus and know how to encounter Him within their own mold. we sat down in the living room. she asked what i thought of her god, her god is love and all that is love is god, and god is all that is love. i said he sounded appealing, but i wasn't interested. that i think God certainly is love, but not just love. i told her about jericho, and how God told the israelites to destroy everything in the city: man, woman, child, animal, gold... everything. she was disgusted. she said that she didn't think she believed in my God if that really happened, because her god is only love. i wasn't really surprised that she didn't take to it. i asked if she had ever read revelations, because that would probably give her a shock about the picture she has of Jesus. Jesus certainly was love. but to only say that, is to deny that He is also fully truth, fully just, fully righteous, and fully powerful. in fact the utmost of any quality must be found in God or it cannot be real. that's heavy for me to understand.
we were blunt, we were honest, and i really enjoyed feeling okay to be that way with her. in the end she said that she didn't think she was christian after all. she said that maybe she would start her own religion. with a grin and a chuckle i wished her best of luck.
